Sondhi Elected as New Politics Party Leader


Key leader of the People’s Alliance for Democracy Sondhi Limthongkul was elected as leader of the New Politics Party at the party’s first general assembly today.


The New Politics Party held its first general assembly today at Thunder Dome, Muang Thong Thani, with key leaders and members of the People’s Alliance for Democracy, or PAD, and party members attending. Most participants donned green shirts with the logo of the New Politics Party

Interim party leader Somsak Kosaisuk was the person who called the general assembly after the party was registered and the legally required membership of 5,000 was achieved.

The main agenda was to elect new party leader and executive members as well as revise the party’s regulations and policies. Moreover, the conference would also lay out the party’s political strategies for the next four years.

02Before the meeting began, New Politics interim leader Somsak Kosaikuk requested participants to mourn for those who lost their lives in the October 7, 2008 police crackdown on PAD protesters.

After that, Somsak announced his resignation in order to allow the general assembly to elect the new leader and new members of the executive board. Somsak then allowed party members to name candidates for the leader post.

PAD core leaders Sondhi Limthongkul, Major General Chamlong Srimuang and Somsak Kosaisuk as well as PAD key members Suriyasai Katasila and General Patompong Kaesornsook were among the nominees.

However, Suriyasai and Somsak forfeited the rights to contest while Major General Chamlong and General Patompong are not members of the party. As a result, Sondhi Limthongkul was the only candidate for the post.

Despite having only one candidate, the vote must still be carried out so as to get approval from at least 20 percent of party members present at the assembly as required by election laws.

01The meeting also agreed to pick 25 members of the executive board, including Sondhi.

After being officially elected as New Politics leader, Sondhi nominated 12 executive members and other 12 were picked by party members at the assembly.

Sondhi’s nomination received overwhelming support from the participants.

Major positions include Somsak Kosaisuk as deputy party leader, Suriyasai Katasila as secretary general, Saranyu Wongkrajang as deputy secretarty general, Vice Admiral Prateep Chuenarom as treasurer, Praphan Koonmee as executive member and Samran Rodpetch as party spokesman.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s